50. Let’s revisit January!

It seems that January has already come and gone.  I’m totally cool with that, as long as it takes those sub-zero temps with it.  Let’s recap what I shared this month…with updates, of course!

At the beginning of the month, I talked about my resolutions (even though I think they are a bit cheesy).  Below are my five resolutions, and updates concerning each.  I have to held accountable for these!

1. Live a more healthy life.  I’ve been making small changes, like eating at least one type of fruit and one type of vegetable every day.  I know that sounds ridiculous, but there have been days (many more than I’d like to admit) that I didn’t eat ANY fruits OR veggies.  We also joined a gym.  I haven’t gone consistently, but I have gone a few times since we joined, and I started a 30 day challenge called “Guns, Buns, and Abs”.  It’s not too difficult, but I think it will get harder towards the end: the last day consists of 250 squats, 40 pushups, and 100 leg lifts.  I can do it!

2. Write at least 200 posts this year.  I’ve been slacking on this one for sure.  I only wrote 7 posts during the month of January.  If I continue that trend, I’ll only have written 84 posts during the course of the year.  That’s less than half of my goal, so I guess I’d better step it up!

3. Increase productivity at work.  I am totally winning at this resolution!  I got enough data together to submit an abstract for an upcoming conference, and things are shaping up to make a really interesting story.  I can smell the publication.

4. Save money.  As of today, we officially have $100 in our savings account.  Again, this might not seem like much to most people, but we are notoriously terrible at saving money.  Woohoo! 🙂

5. Pay down debt.  This will be an ongoing goal for a VERY long time, and sadly we had to add another debt to the list.  It seems as though I filled out my W4 incorrectly, which means I didn’t pay enough tax to the federal government.  Unfortunately, this means we owe money this year (like a LOT), and we’re going to have to set up a payment plan to take care of it.  I’ve changed my withholding information with my employer, and now my paychecks will be smaller (which I feel compounds the problem).  Total bummer, but there’s nothing I can do about it except try to tighten the belts around our wallets just a little bit more.  C’est la vie.

Geez, I guess I better brighten things up a bit!

January was also a month of knitting.  I shared some of my knitting patterns, and also gave you a sneak peak of a sweater I started working on (of my own design).  I’ve finished a good chunk of that sweater, only the sleeves are left!  I’ll make sure to post another progress pic soon.  I started working on a new pattern today, too!

Next, I showed you an antique mirror I scored for only $15 at Antiques on Second.  I still love it.

To round our the month of January, I was featured on The Knot, I bought a brand-spanking-new drill, and I updated the plans for our DIY rustic dining table.

It’s been quite a start to 2014, and I can’t wait to show you more!

XO,
Gabriella

Remember to follow me to see all my latest posts, and don’t forget to share me with your friends!

2 thoughts on “50. Let’s revisit January!

  1. This is exactly what I needed to get back on track with my own resolutions! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

