48. I love me some power tools.

I’ll be leaving work shortly so I can buy a new drill/driver before I pick my husband up from work.  I am really excited, because the drill we have now is…sucky.  And that’s putting it nicely.

I didn’t realize how awful our drill was until I started building furniture last year.  I could predrill maybe a dozen pilot/clearance holes before the battery would die.  Forget about driving screws!  I ended up driving most screws by hand.  So not fun.  I had blisters by the time I was finished building our platform bed (which, I know, I still haven’t shown you…I’m a terrible blogger).

I did some research, and it looks like I’ll be going with a 12V drill/driver from Milwaukee.  I swear I didn’t pick the company because I live in Milwaukee.  It has really awesome reviews!  I need something with more torque and battery life, and this should fit the bill.  I’ll be fixing our table tonight, so I’ll let you know how it works out!  I also need to update the post for our DIY dining table; it was the first project I ever put together, and I’m realizing it could use some improvement.

I’ve also learned (mostly through trial and error) how to use tools properly and efficiently.  I found this short article today, and I think it shares some helpful tips for drilling pilot holes and driving screws.

Yes, I am a petite lady that loves power tools.  Word.

XO,
Gabriella

Remember to follow me to see all my latest posts, and don’t forget to share me with your friends!

2 thoughts on “48. I love me some power tools.

  1. Pingback: The Craft Queen | 49. Made From Scratch: DIY Rustic Dining Table (UPDATED!)

  2. Pingback: The Craft Queen | 50. Let’s revisit January!

Leave a Reply

