36. Yet another glorious Craigslist find!

I rearranged our living room furniture a while back and, in the process, moved in a large bookshelf from our dining room.  The real estate formerly taken up by the bookshelf was now quite bare, and I was considering two options.  First, I thought a buffet might be nice, but…what would I put in it?  It would basically just sit there and look nice, but I wasn’t sure what stuff I would actually cram in the thing.  Option 2: a desk.  Yes!  However, it has to look awesome and cost not a lot of money.  Guess where I’ve been looking?  (If you didn’t say Craigslist, you obviously don’t know me that well.  Alternatively, you live under a rock.)

I was taking a gander at CL this morning, when I stumbled upon the perfect candidate…for only $35!  I rubbed my eyes and pinched myself, but it really was a beautiful, antique desk for 35 smackaroos.

It’s seriously perfect for the space.

Here it is!

It’s missing hardware, but the wood is in fantastic condition.  The photo above is BEFORE I even wiped it down and polished it up!  I’ve been on a painting kick with furniture lately, but this desk is in such nice condition, I’ve decided to leave the finish “as-is”.  Are you shocked, or what?

I’m thinking of ordering some cup pulls in an antique brass finish, and the drawers will get a nice wipe out (they are gah-ROSS right now) followed by a lining of pretty patterned contact paper.  I’ll make sure to update you on the final product!

So, have you found any goodies on the cheap lately?

Oh, Craigslist…how do I love thee?  Let me count the ways…

XO,
Gabriella

Remember to follow me to see all my latest posts, and don’t forget to share me with your friends!

3 thoughts on “36. Yet another glorious Craigslist find!

  1. Yes I found an antique steamer trunk from about 1915 that was FREE! It’s gorgeous!

    Like

    • That’s awesome! I haven’t had any luck yet with free things…but I’m always looking, lol

      Like

      • I’ve gotten 3 things for free from CL. The 1st was a gorgeous antique armoire from the 20’s. Sold that. The 2nd was a dresser from the Kate 1800s which is still in the garage and the last was the trunk. Boyfriend is a photog and wants it. Okay… 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

