35. Before and After: Thrift Store Prints

Remember those prints I showed you a while back?  I scored them for only $3 a piece.  I really like the prints, but the frames…not so much.  Way too 90s for me.  I knew at the time of purchase that I would be either painting the frames or switching them out.  I decided it would be much easier to just paint them!

Here’s a before shot.  Such an ugly frame!  I like metallic silver, don’t get me wrong, but this is just yuck.

101213_01

These prints were professionally framed, which means the entire back was sealed.  I wasn’t about to waste time taking them apart to paint the frame, so I just slide some copy paper under the frame to protect the glass.

101213_02

Next, I painted on a layer of crackle medium; after it was dry, I painted on a thin layer of white acrylic paint.  That’s it!  Super easy peasy.

101213_03

101213_04

I hung them up next to the DIY Feather Art I made a while back.  I think it looks pretty darn fabulous.

101213_05

I actually picked up these prints before I painted the feathers.  I picked the background hues so they would match. 🙂

101213_06

It’s super satisfying to turn a $6 find into something amazing.

I hope you’re all having a fabulous weekend!

XO,
Gabriella

 

Remember to follow me to see all my latest posts, and don’t forget to share me with your friends!

Leave a Reply

