32. Sneak peak at our upholstered platform bed!

I’ve talked about it so much I’m sure you’re probably sick of it, but the majority of our upholstered bed is finished!  It’s the knockoff version of Restoration Hardware’s Alder Tufted Platform Bed.

Adler Tufted Platform 56" Bed (Restoration Hardware)

Adler Tufted Platform 56″ Bed (Restoration Hardware)

Their model is 56″ tall and cost $2595…before shipping.  Yikes.  Ours will come out to 60″ tall, and if I’ve done my math correctly…$226.97!

That’s right, we built a similar bed for about 8% of the cost!  My original budget was $250; obviously I am super proud of myself for keeping things under my spending limit!

I finished the main part of the headboard last night, which definitely turned out to be the most labor-intensive part of the project.  My hands and fingers are still sore today!

Brace yourself for some awesomeness…

TADA!

091613_1

The only thing I think I want to fix is the top…I’m not loving how tight I pulled the fabric.  I’d rather it be a more flat edge instead of scalloped.  Anyway, it’s by no means perfect, but I think this headboard came out AMAZING considering I’ve never done any tufting in my life.

I am patting myself on the back as we speak.

I can’t wait to show you the final product once we get everything assembled!!!

XO,
Gabriella

Remember to follow me to see all my latest posts, and don’t forget to share me with your friends! 

7 thoughts on “32. Sneak peak at our upholstered platform bed!

  1. Oh my gosh, that is incredible! I can’t believe you did this yourself! Great job!

    Like

  2. This is awesome, and exactly what I want. Will you be showing how you made it.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Craft Queen | 64. Shame on me.

Leave a Reply

