2. For the love of Craigslist.

I have a serious obsession with Craigslist.  I’m often perusing the site to see what sort of goodies random strangers are peddling.  Nothing ceases to amaze me anymore.  Not even this: http://milwaukee.craigslist.org/zip/3144931543.html

Anyway…Jason and I moved to a new place on July 1st.  It’s the upper duplex of a home built in 1905, it’s in Bay View, and I love it.  We decided to pare down on our belongings before the move for two main reasons.  First, it would be less junk to haul up a flight of stairs.  Second, all of our furniture was a clash of different styles, and nothing really “went” together.  It’s my goal to have a home with a cohesive design, or at least matching (or mostly matching) furniture.  We also had a real problem with clutter.  Okay, I’m the one with the clutter problem, but I do declare that it’s because I never had a proper “home” for any of my things.  No more, I say.  No more.

Back to Craigslist, we recently made some awesome purchases from two different “vendors”.  The first was a pretty nifty vintage metal cabinet.  It will be perfect for all of my craft supplies, which currently reside in a myriad of boxes, bags, and plastic containers.  Quite the steal for $25!

Isn’t she a beauty?

Image

There are some minor rust issues I need to take care of, and she could definitely use a new coat of paint…but it’s nothing I can’t handle.

Our second find was a set of dressers with a matching mirror.  They aren’t solid “wood”, but they are perfect for painting and distressing (something I’ve wanted to try for quite a while).  We got these babies for only $65, and that included a $15 delivery charge.   Not bad, huh?

Image

Image

Image

As Jason and I are newlyweds, we don’t have a ton of money to spend on furniture.  However, this doesn’t mean we can’t have a beautiful home.  I just need to be creative with the money we do have!

I started painting and distressing the long dresser this past weekend, and I have to tell you: It looks amazing.  I seriously cannot wait to show off the final results!

Stay tuned, and stay classy.

XO,
Gabriella

 

Remember to follow me to see all my latest posts, and don’t forget to share me with your friends!

3 thoughts on “2. For the love of Craigslist.

  1. Pingback: 13. Before and After: Antique Dining Chairs | The Craft Queen

  2. Pingback: 15. Master Bedroom Inspiration Board | The Craft Queen

  3. Pingback: The Craft Queen | 13. Before and After: Antique Dining Chairs

Leave a Reply

